I Stood Barefoot Outside Today and I Cradled Myself in the Wind’s Embrace

Tara Christina M
2 min readMar 23, 2020

--

Photo by Allie Smith on Unsplash

I decided to do something different this morning, “I’m going to follow business hours,” I told myself.

I woke up, focused on gratitude, stretched, and facilitated my own yoga practice. I completed 3 rounds of a breathing exercise I learned from a program I took last year.

I made myself a nourishing breakfast of scrambled eggs with rice, raw garlic, sea salt and black pepper. Of course I made myself a pot of tea, licorice root, elecampane, and ginger. I looked outside and noticed how the neighbors trees swayed to the sounds of the winds. That’s when I had to do it, I had to join in the dance.

The dogs ran to me, one stepping on my bare feet as she always does. I looked up at the sky and took a deep breath. The wind kissed me. I’ve been missing hugs, missing them so that my heart feels the deep wounds of emptiness. In the moment the winds blew, I lifted up my head, closed my eyes and wrapped myself in my own embrace. Then I felt something that I’ve loved for more years than I can remember, I felt the winds’ embrace, I felt cradled in her love. I smiled.

I hurried to wash the dishes and run upstairs to write what I thought would be a poem about the wind, instead it’s come out a little differently.

I took a shower, got dressed and felt the love growing inside. I felt inspiration return, more than a glimmer of hope. My insides smiled a smile I hadn’t felt in months. I’m inspired.

Grateful!

--

--

Tara Christina M

Biracial Black Woman, Mother, Author, Tea-Maker & World Travelin' Foodie. You can read more at TaraChristina.com.