Tara Christina M
4 min readMay 7, 2024

Menopause Symptoms — Where’s the Relief

There comes a time in every woman’s life when she goes through the rites of passage called menopause. If you were born with a uterus and bled from the hole between your legs on a regular or irregular basis, that bleeding will eventually stop. A year after the last drop, is when one is officially in menopause.

On the way to menopause, many pass through perimenopause, which is the beginning of the hormonal shifts during the menopausal journey. It’s also when the symptoms begin. Many report hot flashes, night sweats, irritability, anxiety, libido decrease, hair loss, and more. These symptoms can last a few days to 10 or more years, which is a thought that brings many to additional tears.

People vary in the different symptoms they experience, some mild, others more severe. Treatments range from hormonal therapy, bio identicals, food and exercise. Others try meditation practices or choose to live with the symptoms. What I’d like to address is a major culprit in aggravating the symptoms, endocrine disruptors.

Endocrine disruptors are chemicals that can cause imbalances in our hormonal system which leads to a myriad of issues, including the symptoms listed above. Endocrine disruptors exist in our foods, household products, and environment.

The three questions I offer to people going through symptoms associated with menopause are:

  1. What’s in your body?
  2. What’s on your body?
  3. What’s in your environment?

What foods are you eating? Gluten is a major endocrine disruptor that impacts more than those with celiac disease. It can also aggravate menopausal symptoms. Soy products and overconsuming foods high in phytoestrogens can also cause imbalances. Please note, phytoestrogens can also support in bringing the body back into balance. The key is which foods and eating them in moderation. I’m a huge fan of chickpeas, they are an integral part of my nutrition plan.

What are you putting on your skin? Skin is our largest organ and whatever goes on the body, absorbs into the body. I suggest that you look at the types of lotion, cream, perfume, and makeup you use, what chemicals are included. I’m not suggesting you give up anything, I’m offering look at more natural plant-based alternatives that are within your price range.

What’s in your environment? How many chemical sprays do you use, such as air freshers, household cleaners, etc. What other options are out there that can offer the same results with less chemicals.

There are cost effective ways to address all the questions above. I lived a strict gluten-free life for approximately seven years and have been primarily gluten-free for the last five, all on a budget. I make my own body oil, use plant-based detergents, vinegar and baking soda in my laundry as a deodorizer and softener. Additionally, essential oils go a long way in terms of creating natural fragrances, including air freshers.

I’ve shared my personal experience in Journey Through Menopause. Since my menopause journey began four years ago, I’ve only experienced hot flashes after eating gluten and no night sweats. I’ve had mild symptoms because I live from the three questions I ask above. I’m mindful of what I eat, I use natural products on my skin and plant-based detergents for my laundry, and I avoid chemical-based air freshers, and more. I’m not perfect, but I do my best in order to live a more optimal life.

We are all unique individuals and our experience with menopause may share some similarities, or they may differ completely. One commonality is that if we live long enough, the menstrual cycle will stop, and our bodies will move into the next phase. Menopause is the reality, with the right support suffering through it is not necessarily a requirement.

Please know that you are not alone on this journey. Seek out the right solution that is best for you and your body. Stay informed and be well.

For more information on endocrine disruptors, please see below.

Download: Endocrine Disruptors and Your Health fact sheet (nih.gov) from National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences: Endocrine Disruptors (nih.gov)

Download: hormones_and_edcs_what_you_need_to_know.pdf (endocrine.org) from Endocrine-Disrupting Chemicals (EDCs) | Endocrine Society

Effects of Dietary Phytoestrogens on Hormones throughout a Human Lifespan: A Review — PMC (nih.gov)

*** This article is for educational purposes only. If you are experiencing any distressing symptoms, please report them to a trusted medical professional. The information I provide is meant to offer complimentary information to whatever treatment you choose.

Tara Christina M

Biracial Black Woman, Mother, Author, Tea-Maker & World Travelin' Foodie. You can read more at TaraChristina.com.